About me

My goal as a photographer is to capture the essence of my subjects and to go beyond the pose and the subterfuge of “perfection.” When I photograph people, I find it’s the relationship between photographer and subject that ultimately makes the image. Without a connection, I feel the image becomes flat. When I bring  a concept into reality, it is about making the components congeal so they become a form of communication.

I still shoot film (though I do use a digital when the occasion calls for it); I prefer the heavy shutter of my Hasselblad or the romanticism of the 4×5 (when I can get my hands on one!). I like my colors saturated and my blacks dark; I use films that will take me there without the use of digital alteration. bottom line: I’ll take the scent of freshly developed film over the silent hum of the computer any day.

Leave a Reply

